Probably been talked about before but I'm new here

Gazra

Hey so, I was arrested earlier in-game for speeding around a corner going no more than 65 which I was happy to admit. I fully complied and everything. I still received a 3 day license ban, 4 day impounded car, jail time and nearly 20k in fines -- Some of the fines I didn't even do and weren't warranted at all but IC is IC.

I started playing like 4-5 days ago so I'm still pretty new and learning everything still. I generally have no idea how to get the money and I don't have the money to pay it either.

I understand all of this is IC, but for something this excessively over the top for such a simplistic problem that wasn't even really speeding in the first place, is massively off putting for any new players. I've been playing for hours every day trying to build my character up and try to get somewhere and it's just feels like I've had that torn from me over practically nothing. 

Apparently the court cases OOC wise can take days too, which there isn't any point in me doing it then because the fines will need paid before then. There needs to be a little more leniency for new players in terms of issues like this

A few points to mention;

If you contest your charges, you won't really need to pay them until after a verdict is given because you're contesting them at that point.

As for collecting enough cash, this shouldn't be too hard. New players get 5,000 dollar paychecks for their first 40 hours. IF that has passed, you can roleplay getting a job and perform it through script jobs, or you can seek employment from various businesses in-character. You can look out for ads in game for recruitment or check the IC business section and take it from there.

1 minute ago, Mitch said:

If you file a court case, then all fines and tickets are frozen until the case is ruled upon. 

If you feel like your charcter would want this then I'd highly advise to contest it in court. Sometimes it can make for good RP.